‘TBR’ Tuesday

I have been working my way through a couple of very large books recently, and I have to say, there is nothing more satisfying to me than a book so large that it makes the table vibrate when it’s dropped onto it! I have my eye on a beautiful stack of books for the next couple of weeks, so, without further ado, here’s a little peek at my ‘to be read’ pile.

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 18.50.12

 

‘Lord of Shadows’ (Cassandra Clare)

Happy Book Birthday to Cassandra Clare’s newest addition to the Shadowhunter universe. ‘Lady Midnight’ was the book that renewed my love for this world, after a couple of years of being out of the loop. I adore Mark Blackthorn and I can’t wait to see where this book leads my child and whether he will be reunited with Kieran (though I wouldn’t say no to him being reunited with Kieran and Cristina…)

I picked up my copy today at my local bookshop and this is a book of truly epic proportions, I could feel my satchel sawing into the side of my neck with the weight!

shattered-fc-vShattered Minds (Laura Lam)

The latest offering in Laura Lam’s awesome Pacifica series, I received an ARC the other day and can’t wait to dig in. The first book in this world ‘False Hearts’ was one of my favourite books of last year, introducing the drug ‘Zeal’, a substance which allows people to control their dreams, with highly addictive consequences.

‘Shattered Minds’ follows this tradition, with protagonist Carina using this dreamscape to quell her urge to kill. It looks dark and gritty, and look at that gorgeous cover! Definitely my next read on my Kindle, I feel.

godblindGodblind (Anna Stephens)

Ok, so this is not technically on my TBR as I’ve already started reading it, but, holy crap, I am enjoying this book. I don’t know why, but I stopped reading grimdark for a little bit, yeah, I have no idea why either, but I really glad I picked it up again. This book comes with all the classic warnings for grimdark (bloody violence, threat of rape, gore, metric fucktons of cursing), so if you don’t like grimdark then, well, it’s probably not for you. If you do like a bit of gore and black humour once in a while then this is one you should definitely add to your TBR. It’s out next month via Harper Voyager, and if you’re a fan of Joe Abercrombie or Mark Lawrence then it should probably just be an instabuy for you.

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 19.21.38 Strange the Dreamer (Laini Taylor)

Shamefully, I have to admit that I still haven’t got around to reading ‘Strange the Dreamer’, which is surprising considering it’s a book entirely about libraries, which are, obviously, one of my favourite things!

I was a big fan of the ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ Trilogy and I’ve heard such good things about this book that you can be sure it is high on my tbr list! Weirdly enough I was in Foyles in London the other day and found DOSAB shelved as ‘horror’, which was…surprising.

Soon, my pretty, I shall get to you soon.

final-coverCity of Strife (Claudie Arseneault)

Magical cities, politics, elves, an awesomely diverse cast; what’s not to love? I’ve been searching for lgbt fantasy in earnest ever since I read and fell in love with ‘Ariah’ by BR Sanders last year. This one has awesome reviews, and everything that people are saying sounds like it’s adding up to something I’d adore. I keep having to tell myself to finish the book I’m reading and not just impulsively start this, oops. I shall update you all on the queer elves once I sink my teeth into this!

So, yes, I am way too exited about my tbr at the moment…it’s so awesome, there are so many cool books and there are yet more amazing books to come. I am quite literally bathing in perfect books, looking to the horizon and seeing Jay Kristoff’s ‘Godsgrave’, Cindy Pon’s ‘Want’ and V E Schwab’s ‘This Dark Duet’ all so near and yet so far.

Have you got any books that you are really looking forward to starting, and what is it about them that’s making you so excited?

 

Leave a Reply

